Lexington Reptile Expo Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Really sick Tiger Salamander - HELP!

3 posters

Go down

Really sick Tiger Salamander - HELP! Empty Really sick Tiger Salamander - HELP!

Post by cbfole22 October 3rd 2010, 12:28 pm

Hello all! This is my first time on the LRE Forum and I am desperately looking for some help or advise. I live in Lexington, KY and have a 75 vivarium (only about a 10 gallon water section - the rest is substrate and tropical plants). It is a JEBO system so all of the filtration is in the top of the tank and it has UVA and UVB lighting systems. It maintains a temperature between 76-80 degrees and a humidity level between 74-80%. The water section has a highly efficient filtration pump that keeps the water clear and conditioned. This houses 3 fire belly toads, 1 firebelly paddletail newt, 1 catfish, and 2 tiger salamanders. I have a 3-4 inch substrate level with mesh, hydroballs, and gravel filtration on the land area. The salamanders love to burrow into the substrate and make tunnels. I also hand feed the Samson and Samantha (the salamanders). I use feeding tongs to give them crickets and they both usually have a HUGE appetite - eating up to 5 crickets a day - they never refuse food! I also leave free range crickets in the tank for the frogs and the newt mainly eats feeder guppies. The newt and the catfish stay in the water and the frogs are usually on the opposite side of the tank so Samson and Samantha have a huge free range of area. They have always gotten along really well and I have never had a problem. A little over 3 weeks ago my larger tiger salamander, Samantha, stopped eating and was just acting "funny". She stopped burrowing at all and just layed on the surface underneath large leaves or even just in the open. When I would turn the lights on in the morning, she would stomp off as if she was angry and hide in the dark. She also has had a major loss o